

1290 Broadway • Suite 100 • Denver, Colorado 80203-5606 main: 303-455-1000 • fax: 303-480-6790 • email: drcog@drcog.org • web: www.drcog.org

For Immediate Release: April 28, 2017

Contact:

Winna MacLaren Public relations coordinator

Desk: 303-480-6743

E-mail: WMacLaren@drcog.org

DENVER REGIONAL COUNCIL OF GOVERNMENTS HONORS BRYAN WEIMER WITH A DISTINGUISHED SERVICE AWARD

DENVER – Bryan Weimer received a Distinguished Service Award from the Denver Regional Council of Governments (DRCOG). The award was presented by DRCOG board secretary Bob Fifer at DRCOG's annual awards celebration on April 26 at the Sheraton Downtown Denver.

Weimer is the transportation division manager for Arapahoe County and has participated on DRCOG transportation planning committees for 30 years. He is a longstanding member of DRCOG's Transportation Advisory committee and has joined ad-hoc committees for projects such as the Transportation Improvement Program and the Regional Transportation Plan.

"Bryan Weimer has contributed to transportation planning in our region over the last three decades," said Doug Rex, DRCOG's acting executive director. "He has helped to shape mobility in our area as it has grown and changed, and we're thankful for his continued leadership in tackling new challenges."

The American Public Works Association recently designated Weimer as a Leadership Fellow, teaching and mentoring public works professionals in the Donald C. Stone Center for Leadership Excellence in Public Works.

DRCOG presents Distinguished Service Awards to individuals who make significant contributions to the Denver region and its communities, and to DRCOG's programs and activities. The regional council has been honoring outstanding achievements for more than 30 years.

The Denver Regional Council of Governments is a planning organization where local governments collaborate to establish guidelines, set policy and allocate funding in the areas of transportation and personal mobility, growth and development, and aging and disability resources.

(Insert photo of the group/individual who won the award)